Good Mood Music: Don’t Waste My Time

From My Way forward, I’ve been an Usher fan (OK…maybe not so much during the EDM phase, but I kinda like “OMG”).

His latest release, “Don’t Waste My Time” is from a rumored upcoming album: Confessions 2. The song also features the British singer Ella Mai.

The song absolutely has one sample in it that helps give it a laid-back 90’s feel: “I Like The Way (The Kissing Game).” You can hear it from the first notes of the song. But, in addition, every time I listen to it I hear a strong similarity in the chorus to “Show You the Way to Go,” a song that seen its fair share of sampling. However, I haven’t found any official documenting of that sample use yet.

…Good lovin’, no questions
Reach out and you’ll touch me
Bad habits, don’t judge me
Just don’t waste my time
Good lovin’, no questions, babe (Ooh)
Reach out and you’ll touch me (Ooh)
Bad habits, don’t judge me (Ooh)
Just don’t waste my time…

Leave a comment