Music

Good Mood Music: Tornado 

The winds are getting stronger
The sky is falling through
And you ain’t got much longer
Till the rage rips off the roof
I’m a tornado
And I’m coming after you

I realized I hadn’t featured a country song yet. That changes now with “Tornado” by Little Big Town.

To me, country music is at its best when it takes one of two directions: wistful or vindictive. This song is definitely the latter. It reminds me of when I heard someone say, “if you’re going to throw a rock, be prepared to get a brick back.”

When the song was released in 2012, one music critic said, “Karen Fairchild is the group’s go-to-girl for attitude,” and I can’t agree more. She’s pitch perfect as a spurned lover in this metaphorical song without being over-dramatic.

Leave a Reply

