Gymnastics

Favorite Elite Gym Leos of the Year

LeoCollageBlog

When it comes to artistic team leos, Russia wins my overall prize for the year. They had several that I loved, starting with the one worn by Aliya Mustafina for the Euro Games all around final.

Mustafina2015eurogamesaa

The Russian team final leo from Worlds stood out for a few reasons. As many pointed out, it bears a noticeable resemblance to the USA Gymnastics logo.

logoleocomp

Another favorite of theirs, for me, was worn by Daria Spiridonova during the uneven bars final.

Russia's Daria Spiridonova performs on the uneven bars during the women's apparatus final at the World Gymnastics Championships at the Hydro arena in Glasgow

Also from Worlds, Larisa Iordache’s leo from the all around final caught my eye. I love that shade of green, and it goes really well with the black.

2015WorldsAAIordache

And I love that Ellie Downie wore the same leo her older sister Becky wore in 2009 during the floor final.

Ellietweetcollage

Many great U.S. leos this year were featured on the tumbling and trampoline side, including these two from Worlds.

Russia's Daria Spiridonova performs on the uneven bars during the women's apparatus final at the World Gymnastics Championships at the Hydro arena in Glasgow

I so want the one on the left to be used by the artistic team at the Olympics, though I know it likely won’t.

My favorite leo from the artistic side actually wasn’t worn in competition (but I hope gets worn next year *crosses fingers*).

US2015worldsleo

Out of the individual and club leos, my favorite was the MG Elite leo from day 2 at Nationals.

MGEliteNatlsDay2

The last leo I’ll feature is one worn quite a bit by multiple gymnasts this year. I saw it at the SEA Games, Euro Games, and Worlds. It shows that it’s hard to go wrong with classic black and white.

Thi Ha Thanh Phan (VIE) 2015 SEA Games

Photo Credits: Christy Ann Linder Gymnastics Photography, Reuters, Sport Gym Russia, USA Gym, Zing

Leave a Reply

